Die dritte Lüge Cover Image

About the Author: Ágota Kristóf

Ágota Kristóf was a Hungarian writer, who lived in Switzerland and wrote in French. Kristof received the European prize for French literature for The Notebook (1986). She won the 2001 Gottfried Keller Award in Switzerland and the Austrian State Prize for European Literature in 2008.

Kristof's first steps as a writer were in the realm of poetry and theater (John et Joe, Un rat qui passe), which is a facet of her works that did not have as great an impact as her trilogy. In 1986 Kristof’s first novel, The Notebook appeared. It was the beginning of a moving trilogy. The sequel titled The Proof came 2 years later. The third part was published in 1991 under the title The Third Lie. The most important themes of this trilogy are war and destruction, love and loneliness, promiscuous, desperate, and attention-seeking sexual encounters, desire and loss, truth and fiction.

She has received the European prize for French literature for The Notebook. This novel was translated in more than 30 languages. In 1995 she published a new novel, Yesterday. Kristof also wrote a book called L'analphabète (in English The Illiterate) and published in 2004. This is an autobiographical text. It explores her love of reading as a young child, and we travel with her to boarding school, and over the border to Austria, and then to Switzerland. Forced to leave her country due to the failure of the anti-communist rebellion, she hopes for a better life in Zurich.

The majority of her works were published by Editions du Seuil in Paris. She has two new short stories published at Mini Zoe collection entitled "Ou es-tu Mathias" and "Line, le temps". The names Mathias and Line are from her previous novels.

She died on 27 July 2011 in her Neuchâtel home.

Die dritte Lüge Cover Image

Find the best price forDie dritte Lüge

Goodreads rating: 3.96

Paperback, Published in Sep 1993 by Piper

ISBN10: 3492222870 | ISBN13: 9783492222877

Page count: 176

Nach »Das große Heft« und »Der Beweis« der Abschluss der von der Kritik hoch gerühmten und viel beachteten Trilogie von Agota Kristof. Lucas kehrt nach Jahrzehnten zurück in die Stadt seiner Kindheit. Er erinnert sich an die Jahre der Einsamkeit, getrennt von seinem Zwillingsbruder Claus, an den Krieg, an den gemeinsamen Unterschlupf bei der Großmutter "Hexe". Nun sucht er seinen Bruder.

Compare New Book Prices for Die dritte Lüge


Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .