Heartfelt Moments in Australian Rules Football Cover Image
Heartfelt Moments in Australian Rules Football Cover Image

Find the best price forHeartfelt Moments in Australian Rules Football

Goodreads rating: 3.00

Paperback, Published in Feb 2016 by Connor Court Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN10: 1925138941 | ISBN13: 9781925138948

Page count: 252

These thirty seven contributions of original essays about the most heartfelt moments in VFL/AFL cut across all divides. Essays include contributions by and about football players, supporters and administrators who are vastly different in religion, class, income, ethnicity, gender, race and sexual preference. The contributors range from Christians such as Cardinal George Pell, Geraldine Doogue, and John Birt to atheists like Ross Fitzgerald, Dick Whitaker and Barry Dickins. Even in politics AFL/VFL unites with contributions from Labor's shadow treasurer Chris Bowen; Liberal Minister for Resources, Energy and Northern Australia, Josh Frydenberg; Liberal Foreign Minister Julie Bishop; ex Liberal federal minister Amanda Vanstone and ex Victorian premier, Jeff Kennett. Also a number of contributors uncover how, over the decades, our great game has developed, often for the good, but sometimes not, in terms of its treatment of indigenous players and its dealings with women. Being a lifelong supporter of a club, any club involves a lot of downs and ups. At the very least, to be a true supporter means never giving up or relinquishing one's team. Indeed it means even more than that. Ultimately it is the downs that enable supporters to show their true colours and the depth of their personal attachment and commitment to each club. Thus, as Roger Kahn wrote, in his case about the Brooklyn Dodgers: "You may glory in a team triumphant, but you fall in love with a team in defeat. With Contributions from ROSS FITZGERALD PHILLIPA POWER, barrister who once was Sydney Swans number 1 ticket holder BRIAN DIXON, former Melbourne footballer 1954-1968 KEN SPILLMAN, WA ambassador for The Footpath Library DICK WHITAKER, meteorologist, author, television and radio presenter BARRY DICKINS, award wining writer PETER LYONS, former sports Editor for the Canberra Times JAMES GILCHRIST, author of Tortured Tales of a Collingwood Tragic FRANK DIMATTINA, former Richmond Champion PHIL TAGELL, author of the book Footy Tragic MATT ZURBO, writer on Australian Rules JEFF KENNETT, former Victorian Premier and former Hawthorn President BILL HAY, artist and former under 19s Sandringham player SUSAN ALBERTI, Vice-President Footscray Football Club CHRIS BOWEN, Shadow Treasurer of Australia CARDINAL GEORGE PELL, Cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church LES EVERETT, Author of Fremantle Dockers: An Illustrated History PAUL SANTAMARIA, Melbourne barrister and son of BA Santamaria JOHN BIRT, played for Essendon 1957 to 1967 PEGGY O'NEAL, president of the Richmond Football Club. ROBERT PASCOE, Professor of History at Victoria University, Melbourne RICHARD ALLSOP, Senior Fellow at the Institute of Public Affairs AMANDA VANSTONE, Former Senator for South Australia 1984-2007 CHRIS KENNY, Associate Editor of The Australian GABRIELLE TRAINOR, inaugural director of the GWS Giants. SALLY MURPHY, children's book author MICHAEL GORDON, political editor of The Age JULIE BISHOP, Australia's Minister for Foreign Affairs CHRIS GRIFFITH, is The Australian newspaper's Senior Technology Journalist. GERALDINE DOOGUE, ABC TV Presenter GERARD HENDERSON, Writer and Author JOHN ELLIOTT, former Carlton President JOSH FRYDENBERG, Member for Kooyong ANTHONY CAPPELLO, Founder of Connor Court Publishing ANDREW IRELAND, CEO/Managing Director of the Sydney Swans MICHAEL O'LOUGHLIN, played 303 matches with the Sydney Swans WEATHERMAN DICK, nom de plume of a well-known Australian meteorologist

Compare New Book Prices for Heartfelt Moments in Australian Rules Football


Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .