The Classics Magpie Cover Image
The Classics Magpie Cover Image

Find the best price forThe Classics Magpie

From chariot-racing hooligans to debauched dinner parties - a miscellany that shakes the dust off the ancient world by

Goodreads rating: 3.43

Hardcover, Published in Dec 2014 by Icon Books

ISBN10: 1848317301 | ISBN13: 9781848317307

Page count: 224

Perfect for fans of Mary Beard or films like The Eagle or 300, in this new miscellany Oxford classicist Jane Hood delves into the history, culture, literature, mythology, and philosophy of ancient Greece, Rome, and Egypt, unearthing unexpected gems from a lost world.

How much can you learn about archaeology from an oil lamp? What was a Roman dinner party like? Which tragedian was killed when a tortoise fell on his head?

From ancient cosmetics to chariot-racing hooligans, from the deciphering of ancient languages to the what the Romans knew about concrete, this is the essential miscellany for all curious minds, whether or not you learned Classics in high school!

Jane Hood was, before recent retirement, a fellow in ancient philosophy at the University of Oxford specializing in Aristotle and ancient medicine. She has held research fellowships in philosophy in Paris and in ancient medicine with the Wellcome Institute in London.

Compare New Book Prices for The Classics Magpie
Retailer
Price
Delivery
 
Total
 
...

SEARCHING FOR PRICES...

Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .