Marie by H. Rider Haggard, Fiction, Fantasy, Historical, Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology Cover Image

About the Author: H. Rider Haggard

Sir Henry Rider Haggard was an English writer of adventure novels set in exotic locations, predominantly Africa, and the creator of the Lost World literary genre. His stories, situated at the lighter end of the scale of Victorian literature, continue to be popular and influential. He was also involved in agricultural reform and improvement in the British Empire.

His breakout novel was King Solomon's Mines (1885), which was to be the first in a series telling of the multitudinous adventures of its protagonist, Allan Quatermain.

Haggard was made a Knight Bachelor in 1912 and a Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1919. He stood unsuccessfully for Parliament as a Conservative candidate for the Eastern division of Norfolk in 1895. The locality of Rider, British Columbia, was named in his memory.


Other books by H. Rider Haggard

 
Marie by H. Rider Haggard, Fiction, Fantasy, Historical, Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology Cover Image

Find the best price forMarie by H. Rider Haggard, Fiction, Fantasy, Historical, Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology

Goodreads rating: 3.93

Paperback, Published in Jun 2008 by Aegypan

ISBN10: 1606641611 | ISBN13: 9781606641613

Page count: 232

H. Rider Haggard (1856-1925), master tale-spinner of African adventure, in Marie tells a story in the tradition of King Solomon's Mines and Child of Storm. The youthful Allan Quatermain is bound for strange adventures, in the company of the ill-fated Pieter Retief and the Boer Commission, on an embassy to the Zulu despot, Dingaan. Yet he is bound, too, for one of the deepest romances of his life -- for in Marie he tells of his courtship and marriage to his first wife, Marie Marais. "In 1836, hate and suspicion ran high between the Home Government and its Dutch subjects," wrote Haggard himself about the southern African context of this novel. "Owing to the freeing of the slaves and mutual misunderstandings, the Cape Colony was then in tumult, almost in rebellion, and the Boers, by thousands, sought new homes in the unknown, savage-peopled North. Of this blood-stained time I have tried to tell; of the Great Trek and its tragedies, such as the massacre of the true-hearted Retief and his companions at the hands of the Zulu king, Dingaan!"

Compare New Book Prices for Marie by H. Rider Haggard, Fiction, Fantasy, Historical, Action & Adventure, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Retailer
Price
Delivery
 
Total
 
...

SEARCHING FOR PRICES...

Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .