The Other Side of the World Cover Image

About the Author: Stephanie Bishop

A stunning emerging Australian writer, Stephanie Bishop's first novel was THE SINGING, for which she was named one of the SYDNEY MORNING HERALD's Best Young Australian Novelists. THE SINGING was also highly commended for the Kathleen Mitchell Award. This, her second novel, was recently shortlisted for the 2014 Australian/Vogel's Literary Award under the title DREAM ENGLAND.

Stephanie's fiction and poetry have appeared in SOUTHERLY, OVERLAND and ISLAND and she is a frequent contributor to THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT, THE AUSTRALIAN, THE SYDNEY REVIEW OF BOOKS, THE AUSTRALIAN BOOK REVIEW and the SYDNEY MORNING HERALD. She is a recipient of an Australia Council New Work Grant, an Asialink Fellowship, an Australian Society of Authors Mentorship, a Varuna Mentorship Fellowship and Varuna Residency Fellowship. She holds a PhD from Cambridge and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales. She is currently at work on two new projects - a third novel and a collection of essays.

Stephanie lives in Sydney.


The Other Side of the World Cover Image

Find the best price forThe Other Side of the World

Goodreads rating: 3.27

Paperback, Published in Jun 2016 by Tinder Press

ISBN10: 1472230620 | ISBN13: 9781472230621

Page count: 320

A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction.

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.

Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...

Compare New Book Prices for The Other Side of the World
Retailer
Price
Delivery
 
Total
 
...

SEARCHING FOR PRICES...

Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .