Calling Me Home Cover Image

About the Author: Julie Kibler

My debut novel, Calling Me Home, was published by St. Martin's Press February 12, 2013. It will be published by Pan Macmillan in New Zealand/Australia in March 2013, and in the UK in June 2013. Translation rights have been sold in 14 additional foreign territories.

I only post recommendations and reviews on Goodreads for books I liked, so my ratings are all five stars.


Other books by Julie Kibler

 
Calling Me Home Cover Image

Find the best price forCalling Me Home

Goodreads rating: 4.20

Paperback, by Pan MacMillan

ISBN10: 1447212568 | ISBN13: 9781447212560

A moving love story inspired by a true story and perfect for fans of The Help
In a time of hate, would you stand up for love?
Shalerville, Kentucky, 1939. A world where black maids and handymen are trusted to raise white children and tend to white houses, but from which they are banished after dark.
Sixteen-year-old Isabelle McAllister, born into wealth and privilege, finds her ordered life turned upside down when she becomes attracted to Robert, the ambitious black son of her family’s housekeeper. Before long Isabelle and Robert are crossing extraordinary, dangerous boundaries and falling deeply in love.
Many years later, eighty-nine-year-old Isabelle will travel from her home in Arlington, Texas, to Ohio for a funeral. With Isabelle is her hairstylist and friend, Dorrie Curtis – a black single mother with her own problems. Along the way, Isabelle will finally reveal to Dorrie the truth of her painful past: a tale of forbidden love, the consequences of which will resound for decades . . .
‘If Julie Kibler's novel Calling Me Home were a young woman, her grandmother would be To Kill a Mockingbird, her sister would be The Help and her cousin would be The Notebook. But even with such iconic relatives, Calling Me Home stands on her own’ Wiley Cash, New York Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind Than Home
‘Julie Kibler’s writing is so wise and assured. I laughed out loud in places and had tears in my eyes as I turned the last page’ Diane Chamberlain
'If you liked The Help by Kathryn Stockett, you’ll absolutely love Calling Me Home' Red magazine

Compare New Book Prices for Calling Me Home
Retailer
Price
Delivery
 
Total
 
...

SEARCHING FOR PRICES...

Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .