Jane Austen Cover Image

About the Author: Jane Austen

Jane Austen was an English novelist whose works of romantic fiction, set among the landed gentry, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature, her realism and biting social commentary cementing her historical importance among scholars and critics.

Austen lived her entire life as part of a close-knit family located on the lower fringes of the English landed gentry. She was educated primarily by her father and older brothers as well as through her own reading. The steadfast support of her family was critical to her development as a professional writer. Her artistic apprenticeship lasted from her teenage years until she was about 35 years old. During this period, she experimented with various literary forms, including the epistolary novel which she tried then abandoned, and wrote and extensively revised three major novels and began a fourth. From 1811 until 1816, with the release of Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815), she achieved success as a published writer. She wrote two additional novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, both published posthumously in 1818, and began a third, which was eventually titled Sanditon, but died before completing it.

Austen's works critique the novels of sensibility of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century realism. Her plots, though fundamentally comic, highlight the dependence of women on marriage to secure social standing and economic security. Her work brought her little personal fame and only a few positive reviews during her lifetime, but the publication in 1869 of her nephew's A Memoir of Jane Austen introduced her to a wider public, and by the 1940s she had become widely accepted in academia as a great English writer. The second half of the 20th century saw a proliferation of Austen scholarship and the emergence of a Janeite fan culture.

Jane Austen Cover Image

Find the best price forJane Austen

The Works in Eight Volumes by

Goodreads rating: 4.63

Hardcover, Published in Mar 2009 by Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN10: 1443805408 | ISBN13: 9781443805407

Page count: 2150

Jane Austen's novels remain among the best-loved works of English literature, both in her native Britain and throughout the world. They have inspired numerous sequels, prequels and spin-off volumes, and have been widely adapted for film and television. For generations of readers, Austen's novels have come to represent the essence of the Regency period, epitomising wit, elegance, and a vanished world of politeness and privilege, and harking back to a time of greater moral and social coherence. Austen is also a gentle satirist, justly celebrated for her ironically mocking depictions of the fashions and foibles of her age, and a moralist, known for the clarity of her moral vision and her penetrating psychological insight. For many readers, however, Austen's novels are quite simply the most delightful and satisfying love stories of all time, and her characters the most believable of literary creations. This edition, from Cambridge Scholars Publishing, makes available the complete text of all Jane Austen's works, including her juvenilia and unfinished later works, in an affordable and accessible format. Each volume features a very brief introduction, covering the historical context in which the work or works were written, Austen's own views of the text(s), relevant responses from later readers, and helpful suggestions for further reading. The edition also includes a longer general introduction to Austen's life and works, by a Jane Austen scholar, Dr Katie Halsey of the University of London. Publisher's Note to the Complete Works of Jane Austen This edition of the Works contains Austen's six completed mature novels, plus all the known surviving juvenilia, the early epistolary novel Lady Susan, and the two late novels left incomplete at Austen's death. The contents of the volumes are: Volume 1 (368 pp.): Critical introduction to the Works by Dr. Katie Halsey; Sense and Sensibility and Lady Susan (an early epistolary novel) Volume 2 (304 pp.): Pride and Prejudice Volume 3 (185 pp.): Northanger Abbey Volume 4 (347 pp.): Mansfield Park Volume 5 (365 pp.): Emma Volume 6 (188 pp.): Persuasion Volume 7 (205 pp.): Juvenilia Volume 8 (93 pp.): The Watsons and Sanditon (the incomplete novels) All of the Works have been newly typeset for this edition. The texts of The Watsons and Lady Susan are based on those published with J. E. Austen Leigh's memoir of Austen (London: Richard Bentley & Son, 1883). The juvenilia are based on the first editions, in three volumes, printed from the manuscripts: Volume the First (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1933); Love and Freindship (London: Chatto & Windus, 1922); Volume the Third (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1951). The text of Sanditon is based on the first edition from the manuscript (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1925). The texts of the published novels have been based on those available online from Project Gutenberg, with reference to Richard Bentley's 1833 collected edition. Dr. Katie Halsey (Institute of English Studies, University of London) has contributed both an introduction to the Works as a whole, printed in volume 1, and a separate brief introduction to each volume.

Compare New Book Prices for Jane Austen


Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .