Fantastic Fiction 2 Cover Image

About the Author: H. Rider Haggard

Sir Henry Rider Haggard was an English writer of adventure novels set in exotic locations, predominantly Africa, and the creator of the Lost World literary genre. His stories, situated at the lighter end of the scale of Victorian literature, continue to be popular and influential. He was also involved in agricultural reform and improvement in the British Empire.

His breakout novel was King Solomon's Mines (1885), which was to be the first in a series telling of the multitudinous adventures of its protagonist, Allan Quatermain.

Haggard was made a Knight Bachelor in 1912 and a Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1919. He stood unsuccessfully for Parliament as a Conservative candidate for the Eastern division of Norfolk in 1895. The locality of Rider, British Columbia, was named in his memory.

Other books by H. Rider Haggard


Fantastic Fiction 2 Cover Image

Find the best price forFantastic Fiction 2

Goodreads rating: 5.00

Hardcover, Published in Jun 2010 by Leonaur Ltd

ISBN10: 0857062468 | ISBN13: 9780857062468

Page count: 380

The second of a special Leonaur four volume collection of fantastic stories
H. Rider Haggard's ability to give his audience a good tale well told is not in question. He was one of the most popular authors of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and some of his novels are well known-at least by title-to almost everyone. His story of Ayesha-'she who must be obeyed'- has been filmed and in its day was one of the best selling novels ever. King Solomon's Mines, introduced the public to the little, wiry, white hunter Allan Quatermain. It too became instantly popular and the character went on to feature in a host of different adventures on the dark continent as well as on the silver screen several times. Leonaur have gathered together several Haggard collections for modern readers to enjoy. There is, of course, the two volume Ayesha quartet, but also the Quatermain series, the African Adventures series, the Historical Adventure series and the series of adventures set in the Ancient World. Irrespective of his central theme Haggard was never one to shy away from elements of the supernatural or fantastical, witches, ghosts, familiar spirits, god gorillas and the like appear unquestioned in even the most realistic of his stories. So it is less than surprising that Haggard also produced a body of work that positions itself uncompromisingly in the realms of the incredible. This special four volume collection from Leonaur gathers together those stories-each book featuring one novel and one or more shorter works-in a satisfying four volume set for his many aficionados to collect and relish. Available in soft cover and hard back with dust jacket.
In volume two the first story is the novel, The Heart of the World. Somewhere, hidden and lost in the jungles of Central America is the Golden City occupied by a people separated from the modern world. Our heroes brave dangers and intrigues to find what remains of the Empire of the Aztecs. The second story, The Mahatma and the Hare, takes place on a spiritual plane in which the principal character understands and empathises with the lives, sufferings and struggles of the animal kingdom.

Compare New Book Prices for Fantastic Fiction 2


Categories for this title

Compare book prices with SocialBookco. Get by at the best price. This book is for ISBN which is a copy .